Sunday, 10. January 2016
Integration by boxing
Hey guys!

I would like to tell you something about my boxing team BSV-Holzhausen. I intervied my team, because many members were born in different countrys. My boxing team is a big group, which sticks together and believes in team spirit.
Our trainer helps everybody, no matter if we have problems with boxing or we need help for the daily problems of our life. He accepts everyone and is very friendly. His character is an important reason for the solidarity of our team. His name is Bajram Shala and he works as a boxing trainer since 1989. Besides, he trains two teams. One of the team is in Wallenhorst and the other one in Holzhausen.
Both boxing teams have got members with different cultural backgrounds.

I am in the team of the BSV-Holzhausen. The members come from Russia, Kosovo, Turkey, Africa, Portugal and Germany. Further, girls and boys train together.

My trainer said that mixed teams do more team work like teams with members from the same culture. It is more interesting to meet somebody, who have lived in another country. It’s no problem, if there are different cultures in one team. All members can speak german, so if there is a problem, the team discusses it and find a solution. The whole team wants to box in a peaceful atmosphere. You have to concentrate and focus on boxing. Consequently, there is no space for dispute.

In some cultures it’s forbidden that girls do sports together with boys. People from Turkey theoretically follow this rule. But the members of the team do not care about it. The girls are respected like the boys.

Therefore, I asked some girls what they think about our boxing team.
The name of one girl was Pajtesa Shala. She has been doing boxing for 4 years. She said that multiculturalism is an enrichment for the boxing team. The whole team learn something from other cultures. Besides, everyone is welcome in the team and it’s more important that everybody motivates the group and tolerante the other members.
The other girls also said that new members become a part of the group fastly.
Especially, I liked one statement from a girl named Laura. She said, if we wear our team shirts, we are all the same. It reminds me about our team foto. On the foto we are all wearing our team shirts and nobody would ask where we all come from. NO!
The first thought would be that we are all do boxing in Holzhausen and love this sport.

At last I spoke with a man, who works as a policeman. He has been training for a long time in our team. He told me that boxing is the common basis of the team. In the foreground is the sport and not the culture. You can’t prevent problems or dispute, but on a place where many people at, there will ever be conflicts.

For me, my sports club is a good example for integration by sports. We are a harmonious team and you can find real friends.

Now, it’s your turn.
Are you doing sports in a mixed teams?
Tell me your experience.

Yours Lea :)

... comment

 
My club!
Hi Lea!
Coincidentally, I know your boxing club! It's absolutely stupendous how vast the variety of people is who practice together. I have never noticed any disputes while I trained in the other half of the sports hall, although so many people differ in their ages and their cultural backgrounds. That's great!
Unfortunately, anyone from my team comes from another country. I think we need people with different backgrounds because we can gain so much from them. Since I coach a youth group in table tennis, too, I know how important it is to involve everybody. Although there are more boys than girls in my group, and not all of them are Germans, everybody is fully accepted and tolerated. I hope that they are this open-minded in their everyday life as well. Since they are this open-minded I am going to plan a training with refugees in which my group should teach them, but learn something from them, too.
I am very curious how they will communicate, but I think they will do it!

... link  

 
Thank you Jannik!:)
It's nice to hear that our blog can cause a change. It's important that the members of a team accept everyone. We could see how it works if there is a refugee in a team. You could read our entry about the SV-Eversburg.

Lea

... link  


... comment
 
Love the support
I love the support you give each other. Even though boxing is a competitive sport you guys manage to stick together as a team and celebrate your different ethnic backgrounds with each other.
It is always hard to start a new sport in which you don´t have any experience in, but once you feel included and welcomed in the team, it´s much easier and makes more fun.
I myself am an equestrian and horseback riding is a sport that is highly female dominated, so i know how it feels when you feel different from the rest of the team, but just like your team, me and my team grew together and now we are all great friends.
I love the support you give each other and think that all teams should be like yours.

... link  

 
Your example is very interesting. It's right that riding is female dominated. But I think it's important that some boys do not care and just do the sport. I think some boys do not riding because of the prejudices.
Thank you for your story! :)

Lea

... link  

 
Hey jannis. I like your story too. I think it is very cool and smart that you stand for your passion or hobby although a big part of society has prejudices against male equestrians or men interested in this sport. Therefore I admire your courage. I would also say that this support and solidarity is the most important in a team. Like the mentioned aspect of different cultures and origins your aspect of gender is very interesting. It's a shame that so many people have this stereotyped thinking. So it is wonderful that your group is so open-minded and integrates you. Everyone can practice his passion no matter what gender, age, religion or origin he or she has. That should be more and more tolerated and respected in society. Many lovely greetings, Jasmin :)

... link  


... comment
 
Hi guys!

I think it's amazing that so many nationalities work together in harmony and peace despite including different genders and ages. And that in such a hard type of sport! I thought it would be creating more problems, but I guess I was wrong ^^

You guys really stick together and I can really see and read it. Also, I'm very glad to read that there are no discriminations because of certain genders. I can imagine that it would be quite the taboo to let boys "fight" with girls but you've already said that it usually works out great and everyone is treated equally :)

A very interesting article ;)

xo Melida

... link  


... comment